HB 981 Action Alert: Ask Lawmakers to Support Second Chances for People with Records

HB 981 Action Alert: Ask Lawmakers to Support Second Chances for People with Records

Take action before Justice Day by following the instructions below!

What: HB 981 would limit public access to certain convictions, which would remove barriers to employment and housing for many Georgians.  

Action: Call or email House Judiciary Non-Civil members listed below and express your strong support for HB 981. The bill needs to be passed by the House before Crossover Day, February 28th, in order to move to the Senate.

Message (this is a template, but modify as you see fit!):

 Dear [MEMBER NAME],

As a concerned Georgian, I ask that you support HB 981. It is time for Georgia to follow in other states’ footsteps and allow certain past convictions to be limited from public view. Research demonstrates that this measure increases job opportunities, boosts our economy, and increases public safety.

Please support HB 981 – it is critical for our state.

Thank you for your time and your consideration,

[Your Name]

How: Contact as many committee members as possible to express your strong support for HB 981. The red names below are the priority contacts and the bolded names are the other members of concern.

We recommend making a phone call and sending an email with the text above to follow up, but one or the other is also very valuable!

House Judiciary Non-Civil Committee

Chairman Rich

Golick

404.656.5943

rich.golick@house.ga.gov

Bert

Reeves

404.656.0298

bert.reeves@house.ga.gov

Micah

Gravley

404.656.0152

micah.gravley@house.ga.gov

Mandi L.

Ballinger

404.656.5105

mandi.ballinger@house.ga.gov

William

Boddie

404.656.0109

william.boddie@house.ga.gov

Christian

Coomer

404.656.5024

christian.coomer@house.ga.gov

Sharon

Cooper

404.656.5069

sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov

Pam

Dickerson

404.656.0314

pam.dickerson@house.ga.gov

Deborah

Gonzalez

404.656.0220

deborah.gonzalez@house.ga.gov

Dar’shun

Kendrick

404.656.0116

darshun.kendrick@house.ga.gov

Betty

Price

404.656.0202

betty.price@house.ga.gov

Ed

Setzler

404.656.7857

ed.setzler@house.ga.gov

Deborah

Silcox

404.656.0109

deborah.silcox@house.ga.gov

Robert

Trammell

404.656.5058

robert.trammell@house.ga.gov

Wendell

Willard

404.656.5125

wendell.willard@house.ga.gov

 

Why: See this factsheet to learn about the impact of legislation limiting public access to certain convictions and how Georgia compares to other states.

To maximize your influence, contact as many members as you are able, as soon as possible.

Thank you.